Musiqa is closing our 20th anniversary season with one of our most ambitious projects yet: a four-part film celebrating our homegrown musical diversity, the artists we work with, and the town we live in. From the minds of Houston filmmakers T Lavois Thiebaud and James Templeton, “Musiqa’s Sight & Sonic Houston Parade” is everything the name promises: a tour of some of our most beloved spots – from Allen’s Landing to the Orange Show – and venues – from MATCH to the bar just around the corner, Shoeshine Charley’s Big Top Lounge. Supported by the Buffalo Bayou Partnership, Winnie’s Sandwiches and Cocktails, Brazos Bookstore, and Musiqa Composer Circle Members, and featuring supporting characters from across Houston’s artistic community, this film is a group effort that reflects Musiqa’s collaborative spirit in all that we do. 

“Musiqa’s Sight & Sonic Houston Parade” features four short works by Musiqa Artist Board members Karim Al-Zand, Anthony Brandt, Pierre Jalbert and Marcus Maroney… and can only be viewed this month by signing up at the link above. Sign up now to receive each episode – one per day – directly in your inbox from May 24-27. Don’t have time to watch every episode that week? Don’t worry: your links will be good for two weeks. Because of Musiqa’s pay-what-you-can ticketing policy, your ticket price for this exclusive online event is suggested but not required: this film is available to all art lovers in Houston. Your suggested ticket price of $20 helps us to pay our artists and continue making new work, but any amount is welcome, and it’s possible to see these films for nothing… as long as you sign up! 

We love the artists in this film and the city that we work in, and we look forward to sharing that love with you on May 24.  

More about the artists
“Musiqa’s Sight & Sonic Houston Parade” features compositions by Karim Al-Zand, Anthony Brandt, Pierre Jalbert and Marcus Maroney, with performances by Bree Ahern (cello), Laura Bleakley (piano), Doug DeVries (flute), Jackson Guillen (violin), Mary Grace Johnson (violin), Maiko Sasaki (clarinet), Jacob Schafer (violin), Mayara Velasquez (cello), Matthew Weathers (viola), Blake Wilkins (vibraphone, percussion), and Eiki Isomura (conductor).